The Pentagon Challenge: 2013/2014 Season In Review

Uniao da Maderia

2013/2014 Season

Liga2 Cabovisão_ Overview Stages

Well, well, what a first season. So exciting, in fact, that I played straight past my planned half-season writeup. The season started up surprisingly poorly, given our preseason, but some tactical adjustments started working quite well and we found ourselves go on a 10 match unbeaten run through the Autumn. Our forwards were unstoppable all season long, lead by loan signing Renato and his haul of 26 by season’s end. It was par for the course to see a 4-0 or 5-1 win.

Once we hit our stride during the unbeaten run, we shot up towards the top of the table. When we hit 1st, we really made it our own, staying atop the pile for several months. After the January window, we started slipping up despite bringing in some real talent. Eventually this led to Ac. Viseu catching up and even taking 1st from us. The last few months of the season became quite intense, with there never being more than 3 points between us. We ended up taking first with a few matches to go, and on the last day as long as we matched Viseu’s result, we’d take the league, either on points or goal difference. Of course, despite doing my best motivational speeches, the players just couldn’t pull it out and lost the last match to have us end promoted, but not champions.

I’d like to interject here and say this will not be the format for my future updates. All the drama at the top of the league got the best of me, and I ended up pushing through match after match without thinking to take screenshots. I’m thinking in the future I’ll do 3 month updates, so there will be a fair bit of content but it won’t have to be as broad a summary as this first season was.

Speaking of the future, after taking a team projected to finish well in mid-table and earning promotion, I’ve received this contract offer:

 Dave Faries_ News Inbox-21

I haven’t decided yet if I’m going to take it. Our wage budget would only increase by 1k, which going into the top flight I don’t think is enough, especially with no transfer budget at all. A lot of players saw their contracts not get renewed, mainly because they either weren’t good enough or were barely good enough for the second division. That would free up a good portion of that 16k, but we wouldn’t really have any room to bring in players of the quality we’d need. I might take the contract to stay employed while I see what other jobs are out there. The Portuguese second division isn’t the most reputable place to manage, but my accomplishments so far are starting to earn me a tiny reputation. We’ll see what happens. I’ll leave you with some various interesting happenings throughout my first season.

Hugo Morais_ Overview Profile-2
Hugo was easily our best player, picking up several awards at the end of the season.

Dave Faries_ News Inbox-18

Dave Faries_ News Inbox-17

Dave Faries_ News Inbox-16

Dave Faries_ News Inbox-15

I didn’t do too badly for myself either, picking up a few manager of the month awards, among others.

Dave Faries_ News Inbox-11

Dave Faries_ News Inbox-19

Dave Faries_ News Inbox-14

Until next time, fellow managers.

Leave a Reply

